U.S. Virgin Islands

A territory of the United States of America since 1917, the United States Virgin Islands is an archipelago comprised of three principal islands—St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas—plus 50 smaller islands, cays, and islets. The flags of seven different nations have flown over these islands, leaving their distinct imprint on the people and culture.

From world class diving, deep sea fishing, sailing, snorkeling, kayaking, and paddle boarding to windsurfing and jet skiing, there is an abundance of exhilarating ways to get on and in the water. On land, horseback riding, hiking, biking, and eco-tours afford awe-inspiring vistas, and you can step back in time in one of the historic towns or 17th- and 18th-century forts.